fatnews.com Home page  >  Article | Previous article | Next article



  • Categories of Articles
  • Summary View
  • Headline View
  • Archive of Quotes
  • Contact Us
  • Follow @fatnews

    New USDA Food Pyramid

    Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
    Tuesday, April 19, 2005 5:53 am Email this article
    Here is the new U.S. Department of Agriculture's Food Pyramid released today. Grains

    Eat at least 3 ounce of whole grain bread, cereal, crackers, rice, or pasta every day.

    Look for “whole” before the grain name on the list of ingredients.

    Any food made from wheat, rice, oats, cornmeal, barley or another cereal grain is a grain product. Bread, pasta, oatmeal, breakfast cereals, tortillas, and grits are examples of grain products.

    Grains are divided into 2 subgroups, whole grains and refined grains.

    Whole grains contain the entire grain kernel—the bran, germ, and endosperm.

    Examples of whole grains include:

    - Whole-wheat flour
    - Bulgur (cracked wheat)
    - Oatmeal
    - Whole cornmeal
    - Brown rice


    Vary your veggies.

    Eat more dark green vegetables.

    Eat more orange vegetables.

    Eat more dry beans and peas.

    Any vegetable or 100% vegetable juice counts as a member of the vegetable group. Vegetables may be raw or cooked; fresh, frozen, canned, or dried/dehydrated; and may be whole, cut-up, or mashed.


    Focus on fruits.

    Eat a variety of fruit.

    Choose fresh, frozen, canned, or dried fruit.

    Go easy on fruit juices.

    Any fruit or 100% fruit juice counts as part of the fruit group. Fruits may be fresh, canned, frozen, or dried, and may be whole, cut-up, or pureed.


    Make most of your fat sources from fish, nuts, and vegetable oils.

    Limit solid fats like butter, stick margarine, shortening, and lard.

    Oils are fats that are liquid at room temperature, like the vegetable oils used in cooking.


    Go low-fat or fat-free.

    If you don’t or can’t consume milk, choose lactose-free products or other calcium sources.

    All fluid milk products and many foods made from milk are considered part of this food group.

    Foods made from milk that retain their calcium content are part of the group, while foods made from milk that have little to no calcium, such as cream cheese, cream, and butter, are not.

    Meat and Beans

    Choose low-fat or lean meats and poultry.

    Bake it, broil it, or grill it.

    Vary your choices—with more fish, beans, peas, nuts, and seeds.

    All foods made from meat, poultry, fish, dry beans or peas, eggs, nuts, and seeds are considered part of this group. Dry beans and peas are part of this group as well as the vegetable group.


    New food pyramid. United States Department of Agriculture. Pages viewed on 2005 April 19. http://www.mypyramid.gov/

    Articles on the same subject can be found here:


    Please feel free to share your comments about this article.




    Please enter the word you see in the image below:

    Remember my personal information

    Notify me of follow-up comments?

    © Copyright 2003-2021 - Larry Hobbs - All Rights Reserved.